Posted by: 愛撫 | 06/21/07

I’ve Data File 03: Mami Kawada

Mami Kawada

The third-most prolific I’ve girl after KOTOKO and Eiko Shimamiya, Mami Kawada (川田まみ) is perhaps most well-known for her recent work on popular anime series Shana (known in Japan as Shakugan no Shana – 灼眼のシャナ), but there’s certainly more to her than that – so here’s her I’ve Data File!

BIOGRAPHY:

Mami Kawada made her I’ve debut in 2001, singing the KOTOKO-penned opening theme for CROWD’s eroge ‘miss you’. And apparently it was a hit, because less than a year afterwards she was singing the ending theme for I’ve Sound’s first anime crossover Please Teacher (おねがい☆ティーチャー). Also in 2002 she recorded 3 songs with Eiko Shimamiya as ‘Healing Leaf’, however it should be noted that only one of the three Healing Leaf songs appears on an I’ve compilation album.

2 years after that Mami ended up being the second I’ve girl to put out a maxi-single on Geneon records with her ‘radiance’ single (opening theme from the anime Starship Operators, KOTOKO’s ending theme for the same anime served as the B-side), and after 3 singles (2 split with KOTOKO, 1 solo) she released her first solo album, SEED. (No connection to the similarly-named Gundam series, I assure you.)

DISCOGRAPHY:

Album:

SEED – 2006

Singles/EPs:

radiance (split with KOTOKO) – 2005

Hishoku no Sora (緋色の空) – 2005

undelete (split with KOTOKO) – 2006

Tenjou wo Kakeru Monotachi (天壌を翔る者たち) – 2007 (with I’ve Special Unit/Love Planet Five)

Akai Namida (赤い涙) – 2007

Get my way! – 2007 (forthcoming)

DVDs:

I’ve PV Collection vol.3 – 2003 (with I’ve Special Unit)

LIVE & LIFE – 2007

Compilation appearances:

LAMENT – 2003

OUT FLOW – 2003

SHORT CIRCUIT – 2003

Mixed up – 2004

Collective – 2005

Responses

  1. Hey! I would just like to say that thanks for the data file on Mami Kawada. She rocks! She’s my favourite I’ve singer. XD And I can’t wait for her new song!


Leave a Reply

Categories

