Posted by: 愛撫 | 11/05/08

Single review: Mami Kawada – PSI-missing

Kawada’s first single since last year’s standout Shakugan no Shana 2 opening theme “JOINT”, To Aru Majutsu no Index opening theme PSI-missing is also the first release from Kawada in the wake of her second album SAVIA. With such impressive discs preceding it, it was pretty much destined from the start that PSI-missing would be a bitter disappointment: but, you may wonder, how bitter a disappointment? Find out after the cut!

Mami Kawada (川田まみ) – PSI-missing (2008, Geneon)

Tracklisting:

1. PSI-missing

2. 雨 (Ame)

3. PSI-missing -Instrumental-

4. 雨 -Instrumental-

The review:

No more Mr. Fucking Nice Guy, to use an unnecessarily profane spin on a tired cliché. The general consensus on this blog regarding whiz-kid producer Tomoyuki “God of all things” Nakazawa up to  this point has pretty much been that everything he so much grazes with his fingertips turns into sparkling 24-karat gold, but when he pulls crap like this, I’m not going to stand for it.

PSI-missing is the kind of song that sycophantic fanboys will defend until the end. Even though it’s lazily-crafted garbage cribbing extensively from Kawada’s last single but lacking the heart and energy of both JOINT and its vastly underrated B-side triangle, “[I’m] just being too hard on it, it’s a good song.”

Good.

Good?

No, it’s not very good. At all.

The worst of PSI-missing’s sins is that the song is a deceiver above all else. With its opening hook, the song would have you believe it a thoroughly satisfying, JOINT-esque excursion into I’ve Sound’s oh so particular brand of dance-rock. It’s a great hook, and one that surely deserved to be attached to a better song. But, alas, the true song is more in line with a lifeless retread of triangle – vocals during the verses spoke-sung in softer tones, suggesting a sort of intimacy at constant odds with the electronic arrangement surrounding it. While the JOINT B-side succeeded through an uncommon sense of emotional honesty, however, PSI-missing comes up lacking in the ‘heart’ category: Mami Kawada’s on cruise control through both of the single’s underwhelming tracks, and it’s hard to find anything particularly endearing about her when she’s fallen asleep at the wheel.

But the vocals during the verse are actually, relatively speaking, a high point: at least, when you compare them to the shit that comes after them, they seem pretty damn good. I mentioned earlier how the song’s hook suggests action and excitement, and even throughout the dreariness of the verse sections it seems almost like it might still be building up to some sort of climax. Oh lordy, it ain’t.

It’s not so much that the chorus is the worst of both Kawada and Nakazawa’s careers, it would probably be more fair to all parties involved to just call the song-ruining piece of shit that stands in where a vocal hook would be in a song crafted out of anything but lethal apathy and shocking laziness the second-worst chorus in I’ve history. (The first being MELL’s “Fall in Love”, but that’s a story for another day.) Simultaneously robbing the song of any momentum it may have gained on account of its instrumental hook as well as ruining any possible delusions fans may have had about Kawada being a remotely talented vocalist (I still like her, but the doubts I know some had about her actually possessing anything approaching vocal power have, as of this song, been assured beyond assurance), the tastelessly-crafted mess reveals that the apathy that had been killing compositions from the rest of the collective’s producers has indeed spread to our boy Nakazawa.

You see, this single is in a way exactly what the I’ve fandom deserved. We heard Takase’s lazy abominations and called bullshit. We heard Maiko Iuchi pull the same crap, didn’t stand for that either. Even C.G mix put out a terrible single nobody liked, but through it all we were blindly convinced that, somehow, Nakazawa was above all this. He’s clearly taken the fans’ attitude to heart here, as a song this utterly lame can only be the result of a producer being convinced that he’s bulletproof after coming off a too-long lucky streak.

And, in keeping with my tradition as of late, I’m ignoring the B-side entirely because it’s terrible in pretty much the exact same way as its A-side, albeit without the part where it lies about being interesting. Ame prefers to broadcast its boringness from the get-go, a move that might be admirable were the results not so mediocre. Fuck this single.


Responses

  1. Yeah I didn’t think it was *great*. However, I don’t loathe it. I guess it’s a tossup of somewhere in between for me. Sigh. It’s kind of hard to look forward to future I’ve works from now on, personally.

  2. I actually loved PSI-missing, hated the B-side. PSI-missing is really good, especially when you have watched the PV, which then comes back to the mind while listening to it.

    The B-side (didn’t even bother ot remember its name) is awful. I totally hate it. It lacks musical grip as well as attractiveness. It’s just as one of KOTOKO’s failures: not memorable.

    Anyway, it’s just a single. We know that there are very few singles where both the A and B sides are cool, which is not PSI-missing’s case, but I really DID enjoy the A side a lot!

  3. BTW, we really must pray for I’ve’s future… It’s quality is diying slowly and painfully. Maybe MELL’s KILL will save the year…

  4. “Yeah I didn’t think it was *great*. However, I don’t loathe it.”

    Loathing is an appropriate reaction. I highly recommend it.

    “Maybe MELL’s KILL will save the year…”

    The year didn’t need saving: remember SAVIA? Even fucking MELLSCOPE, my gripes with the lack of new content aside – and what about WHEEL OF FORTUNE? All great releases from this year, and assuredly better than the impending disappointment KILL is sure to be.

  5. After the review the only thing I could say is… Thanks God I’ve never heard it!!! hahaha (joke^^)

    Well, I don´t like this single but I think it’s ok (however, my taste is very odd, for example I liked a lot MELL’s Virgin Highs! so what…).

    My mind is now focused on MELL’s KILL, even if it’s a fail… (I already have placed the pre-order on CDJapan ^^)

  6. Well even if you thought PSI-missing was dreadful, “Special Life!” was even more of a dreadful if you’re going to ask me and it will be even better than Rimless. (like in any case for example, if I didn’t love PSI-missing, what will be the love left for Rimless? Absolutely nothing Maybe negative love, I guess. Such a boring song).

    Hearing the preview of KILL, I don’t think it will even save I’ve Sound. It’s too “light” for a blade-action film. It’s not getting any better than Red fraction. Or maybe, we’re just going to accept that there won’t be another Red fraction… I guess.

    Side Comment: Oooohh, I already want another KOTOKO album. *glomps*

  7. Oh and I have another question for you aibu, I hope you won’t be mad or something but I’ll take it as a respect and I’m sorry if you have to answer a nonsense question from me but I’m just a little curious. ^_^

    When is the last time that you liked a ballad from I’ve Sound? Well I just asked because it seems like you really didn’t like the genre or maybe I’m wrong?

  8. I’ve ballads suck! I hate them all! Even Permit! It’s just Ive’s thing is electronica, trance, techno, not ballad; those are just to fill the gaps of geeky and corny+cheesy anime endings!

    (I’m not aibu though xD)

  9. ^However, I do support electro-ballds that posses lots of power and passion.

  10. I personally don’t think the single deserves that much hatred, though I am disappointed with how weak PSI-missing is compared to many of the tracks from SAVIA. It’s a really creative song from the arrangement standpoint, relative to many recent I’ve singles. From the looks of it, we won’t see a song like JOINT from Mami for a while unless the fan backlash is strong enough. Maybe Tomoyuki Nakazawa would like to work with MELL a bit…?

    Supplemental review!
    I don’t usually do this, and one of the reasons I came to this blog was so I wouldn’t have to do the reviews, but Ame is not really Aibu’s kind of song.
    So, Ame.
    One of the problems that I’ve had with KOTOKO’s ballads over recent years is that KOTOKO can’t tone her voice down, similar things could be said with the arrangements. They end up sounding fake, far too upbeat for what you would expect from a song called “Nakikattanda,” for example.
    Ame is just rain. It has nothing to do with crying, but Mami has the sense to lower her voice while still convincingly singing about rain. The guitars and drum arrangements, which have often got in the way with their heavy-handedness in other I’ve ballads take a quiet backseat to I’ve’s signature synth strings and other non-organic instruments. There’s nothing really powerful about it, nothing that makes you bang your head, or hang your head in despair (looking at you, repeat -Deep Forest mix-) but is nevertheless an appropriately melancholy song, especially for the latter half of fall.

  11. PSI missing is an ok song, the arrangement isn’t as intricated as it could be an indeed there¡s a sense of monotony all over it but yet there are some parts that save it from being a total failure.
    As for ame… didn’t even hear it.
    I believe that KILL will be an AWESOME song, and just for the record i remember that aibu said that real onigokko was going to be terrible and this was just after he watched the trailer so who knows maybe he’ll fall in love with kill too.

  12. Ok with you AG.

    But Fred, let me quote some parts of your comment.

    “Well even if you thought PSI-missing was dreadful, “Special Life!” was even more of a dreadful if you’re going to ask me and it will be even better than Rimless.”

    I couldn’t say something better than that. Perfect comment.

    “Hearing the preview of KILL, I don’t think it will even save I’ve Sound. It’s too “light” for a blade-action film. It’s not getting any better than Red fraction. Or maybe, we’re just going to accept that there won’t be another Red fraction… I guess.”

    Well, I think KILL it’s gonna be a lot better as a single, but I agree with you, it’s almost impossible to even think that can be better than Red Fraction.

    “Side Comment: Oooohh, I already want another KOTOKO album. *glomps*”

    -In fact, I’ve been dreaming with that since I don’t know when.

  13. “When is the last time that you liked a ballad from I’ve Sound? Well I just asked because it seems like you really didn’t like the genre or maybe I’m wrong?”

    Permit was good, not sure if Portamento counts but it was brilliant as well, for what it’s worth I also like undelete – I’ll admit, I’m generally not too keen on ballads, but when a good one comes along I do really, really like it (Ouji Yo off Disintegration being my favourite ballad track – if I’ve could get back to stuff like that I’d definitely be into it)

  14. ^ Yes, and yes!! I already feel like Tetsuki (in the jpopmusic forums) because she’s already getting impatient of KOTOKO’s album. “I… WANT… A… KOTOKO… ALBUM… NAO!” — just imitated what she said.

    @AG>> well I liked Real Onigokko since the preview… But I really didn’t like KILL that much but yeah let them prove me wrong with the previews. ^_~

    @NumberXIII>> well yeah sort of but there is one ballad that I really liked from I’ve Sound — and that is KOTOKO’s “loose” (or I don’t know if it is considered a ballad). I really like it.

    @Hikaruhoshi>>Now that you mentioned it, ballads aren’t really aibu’s kind of songs so he didn’t commented that much on those. And I could just remember how aibu hated tear-jerkers! Ah sue Tomoyuki Nakazawa and Maiko Iuchi for those since they’re the ones who composes those kind of songs! XD

    Hopefully “On my own” is a good song too. Oh speaking of this, I think this is the first time Nakazawa worked with MELL on a single? Am I right? Since I could only see few Nakazawa-produced MELL songs. And I must say “Last in blue” still stays as my favorite. <3

  15. i have the feeling that KILL as a single will kick ass… well this is only my prediction HOHOHO or it could be my sick love for everything MELL i just fuckin love her!!!

  16. @fred= LET THEM PROVE YOU WRONG ^_~

  17. Joke after Joke ^^.

    You know what, as you told me, I’ve been watching a lot the “I’ve in Budokan”first DVD so I can meet the former members of I’ve.

    And now, there are two points I would like to share.

    First. About the current I’ve members.

    I love, I repeat, I love the on-stage performance of Kaori and as I said before, she’s an ojou-sama with a beautiful voice and a lovely look (so kawaii greetings all the time to the audience ^^). I hope she sings more than 2 themes on the next Budokan .

    I also liked a lot Mami’s performance, specially with IMMORAL (right now I’m thinking of her singing TRILL on next Budokan… can’t wait).

    And sorry, but my favorite performance is MELL, not only by her look (and the red dress OMG!) and her special voice but also because the way she moves on stage, “dominating” the audience and the camera… (can’t wait for her performing SCOPE and Kicks! on next Budokan).

    and Two. About the former members.

    I have to recognize that I’m in shock with SHIHO, I never thought that I could find this kind of singer on I’ve, she’s no only beautiful but her voice is so nice and special too.
    I also like the way she enters to the stage and the reaction of the audience. I think I would like to see her on the next Budokan ^^.

    The other one that impress me was Lia, she´s full of skills and her performance on stage was very nice.

    Reina is a princess, tough she doesn’t move a lot but her presence on stage was warm.

    MOMO is quite good too.

    Well, sorry for this have-nothing-to-do comment but I wanted to share my opinion with you all about this great concert, now I’ll watch the second dvd and then I’ll tell you wath I think of the others I’ve ex-members.

    Greetings.

  18. “We heard Takase’s lazy abominations and called bullshit. We heard Maiko Iuchi pull the same crap, didn’t stand for that either. Even C.G mix put out a terrible single nobody liked, but through it all we were blindly convinced that, somehow, Nakazawa was above all this.”

    No no no! WE did not think that! I still thought Kazuya & Maiko were the shit!

    Anyways, you all have completely neglected to mention what will save I’ve. I’ve is in need of new talent. New composers/arrangers & new singers is what’s needed.

  19. What I’ve needs is to get rid of Maiko (she belongs to a mediocre lovey dovey idol girl band) and give Takase a theraphy to regain his now-hidden talent.

    Anyway, this year wasn’t good for I’ve, they need to KILL Maiko, SAV(I)e(A) Takase, kick(s!) C.G mix and make a Nakazawa Diorama! xD

  20. Rope SHIHO back in FTW. Literally, with rope.

  21. “No no no! WE did not think that! I still thought Kazuya & Maiko were the shit!”

    ‘We’ in this case refers to Hikaruhoshi and I as well as the majority of our readers. I am well aware there have been dissenting voices throughout, but when those dissenting voices are in praise of The Cancer That Is Killing I’ve (Iuchi) I usually just take the easy way out and ignore them. Note that journalistic ethics and balanced perspectives have never been amongst this blogger’s strong points.

    “Anyways, you all have completely neglected to mention what will save I’ve. I’ve is in need of new talent. New composers/arrangers & new singers is what’s needed.”

    OK, this is an interesting suggestion. I’ve needs new talent? OK. I can sort of get behind that idea. After all, the lineup of vocalists… oh. Wait. New composers & arrangers?

    Let me ask you a question. If indeed I’ve followed your suggestion and brought in a bunch of new production talent in addition to new singers, wouldn’t it be an arbitrary technicality to even call the new stuff “I’ve” anymore? The producers that make up I’ve have remained largely steady since LAMENT/OUT FLOW some 5 years ago, and the group dynamic has changed from “Takase and whoever he wants to say is I’ve this week” to a defined set of in-house producers handling each new release. To bring in new blood, production-wise, at this point would only serve to dilute this new group dynamic and lead to stylistic inconsistency that could ‘cheapen’ the I’ve brand even more than Maiko Iuchi and KOTOKO’s increasingly awful eroge themes have been doing over the last year.

    So my suggestion is not to confuse matters with new people, the production and vocal lineup I’ve is working with now is their tightest and possibly best in years. Instead, they need a new label. As one can tell from looking at the often bland and uninspired singles the girls have been putting out and contrasting them with the stunning tracks original to their albums, the singles’ mediocrity has been as a result of a lack of willingness to take risks, as is understandable from a company in as dire a financial situation as Geneon. On original album tracks, which influence buying decisions very little, the producers are free to experiment and produce brilliant results because of it. So if I’ve moved to a more forward-thinking record label like, say, avex (who recently signed denpa sensation Halco Momoi, resulting in some of her best work being done for their label) or even Frontier Works (the label for Eiko Shimamiya’s Higurashi singles, which have been notable exceptions to the Geneon mediocrity since day one), then we could get a chance to hear I’ve as they were meant to be.

    My 2 cents, take ’em or leave ’em.

  22. You know, I just wanna say that I’ve doesn’t need new singers but to use the full capacities of each one of the currents (please, I’m talking about real work, not eroges or that kind of stuff).

    Let KOTOKO and Mami out of this.

    MELL. I’m a fan of this girl, and by reading you I know that she is one of the elder members of I’ve but only recently she’s releasing singles, just an album and her first live tour.

    Eiko. When I listen her songs, I can say she has a great voice but in certain way, I feel that I’ve is not taking everything out of her. She’s able to do a lot more.

    Kaori. Well, we all know what is the situation of Kaorin ¬¬…

    This is the way I see things (I’m sorry if I wroted something wrong^^) and I’m not going to say anything about composers or arrangers because I don’t have the knowledge to do that.

  23. get FISH TONE back as well!!! Dump SORMA!!! hahahaha! *lol’d*

    I agree with Geneon being a poor label. If they would change their label to avex or Sony, maybe there will be big chances of better sales as well! And longer charting singles. xD

    I felt sorry for MELLSCOPE just its debut on #4 at the Oricon Daily, too bad it only charted for 5 weeks with a measly 15,000+ copies. I’m saying it could’ve sold better than just fuckin’ 15,000 copies! And definitely, it could chart for more than 5 weeks if Geneon would only use opt promotions for I’ve Sound’s singles and albums. I think that’s what they lack as a label.

  24. I tend to agree with what 愛撫 said up to a vast portion. Geneon is the by far worst decision for artists such as I’ve and their Vocal Hime to sign on to and the mediocrity that emerges I’ve through a good part of the Single releases in recent years shows that.
    But I think that the major problem I’ve is facing these days is that they are trying to (and here I’m not so sure whether that can be blamed on I’ve or Geneon) push the girls into categories. Take MELL as prime example, prior to “Red fraction” while we’ve got some harder stuff presented through her I’ve works, it seems like ever since her Solo / Geneon paths she is labeled as the gothic girl of the I’ve collective, Kaorin been put into the “cute girl nextdoor” image while Kawada seems to be our rebellious and trendy teenie Madonna next door. If at all then I’d say KOTOKO and Shimamiya (though that might relate to the Frontier Works connection for her releases) are given the most freedome as to *what* they want to represent themself through their music. And *this* is actually the biggest gripe I bear towards what I’ve grew alongside considerably more broader recognition then compared to five or more years ago.
    They should really go away from narrow their spectrum that way because it reflects on the music they present ultimately (I mean seriously can you imagine MELL pulling of a “Fly To The Top” *these days* again? And I guess I should give up any hope that Kaorin will try herself at a possible follow-up song to the greatness she perfromed for “SWAY”).

    Also just my two cents on the these days I’ve music or the mediocrity they sometimes come forth with nowadays.

  25. i absoluteley agree with you guys, geneon was from the start a bad idea. Even before this thread became the “why does IVE has been sucking lately? official thread” i was thinking about how much of a change could it be made if the group moved to a label like sony or avex i bet that arrangers could have a lot more freedom, also genenon has had such poor publicity efforts towards the girls i mean how can they expect to sale if they don’t take an agresive stand publicity wise.
    And by the way i like Mell being the goth girl from IVE in fact it only made me love her more and more…
    yes i have an obsession with MELL… XD

  26. “And by the way i like Mell being the goth girl from IVE in fact it only made me love her more and more…
    yes i have an obsession with MELL… XD”

    You know @AG, I thought it was me who wroted that comment ^^, agree 100% (and no less) with you.

    MELL rocks!, Gothic Style rocks! and Geneon sucks!

  27. I love MELL too, but I think that bearing the Gothic flag somehow limits her options. I loved OUTFLOW and Sabaku no Yuki for example, but now she’s more like the “Kill, kill KIIIIIILLLL girl”. She’s adopted the sadistic image ever since agrresive yet awesome Red Fraction.

    Anyway, what puzzles the most is that her music is not even gothic. I mean, one would expect SCOPE to be more deep, hardcore and crazy given that “scope” is the term used to refer to parapsychological abilities (telekinesis, EP, etc (I learned that while researching the meaning of PSI-missing)), but instead, it is a medium-class song; it’s not exactly as madness-inducing as, say, Repeat.

    Same goes for the other girls. Mami is the rock girl, while her music is KINDA rock (more like electro-rock or something). That was the reason I liked PSI-missing; the so-called Feather attack on her gave her a new look, a look that doesn’t fit in any category or style, just like Eiko in Higurashi no naku koroni with a creepy mask and a nice blue dress.

    KOTOKO… KOTOKO… Although she is not chained to a style or look, she hasn’t released good stuff lately… And I also refer to the UZUMAKI album. I loved UZUMAKI (the song), but besides the already-released songs that were included, none of the other ones really got my attention… Real Onigokko and siren were awesome, but that doesn’t fill the gap left by the bad songs. That’s KOTOKO, she has AWESOME songs and DIABOLICALLY HORRIBLE songs…

    And the arrangers… they need to re-find their inspiration. They have been releasing stuff for movies, eroge and anime and very few original stuff. Its not the same “ahh… I feel like composing new music” and “GOSH! I need to compose new music so that cheesy anime opening is not alone!!!!”. They have been forcefully composing new music; music that lacks a heart and whose only purpose is to “fill the single”.

  28. BTW, it’s really obvious that the “look adoption” is just a marketing strategy.

  29. @NumberXIII, you have writting skills and an amazing point of view, of course, I can´t agree with everything you just wroted but it’s very close to what I think.

    Oh!… I just remember, today is the last show of the MELL’s Live Tour ^^ (at moments like this I feel frustrated for living so far from Japan ¬¬ …)

  30. While I do agree that Geneon is making some pretty bad decisions, what are the chances of I’ve Sound breaking away from them anyway? I can only hope for the day to come.

    Agreed with NumberXIII, I’ve needs to stop composing for composing sake.

  31. @Pedropinilla-When you say MELL is one of the elder members of I’ve, are you referring to her time in the group or her age? If you mean her age, she’s only about 37.

    If you want to be honest about the talents of the I’ve singers(including IKU), Eiko & IKU are the only two that are capable of composing a full song by themselves.

  32. @SAME, let me give you two answers.

    First, honest, I’m referring to her time since she entered I’ve.

    Second, I don’t care if she’s about 37, she could have 47 and still she would be the best for me (in every aspect ^^).

    I know about Eiko’s skills because she’s “the teacher” or something like that to KOTOKO, and about IKU, I’m sorry but I don’t have enough knowledge of her to say something (my fault…).

    But isn’t KOTOKO able to compose full songs by herself too? or am I wrong?

  33. “Eiko & IKU are the only two that are capable of composing a full song by themselves.”

    Actually, Eiko and IKU’s compositions are largely garbage. KOTOKO, on the other hand, has many songs (such as Princess Bride!) to her credit that sometimes even outdo the I’ve production cast’s own work. However, you never quite made clear why the hell composition talent means anything when evaluating the I’ve girls. They’re paid to be singers, who gives a shit if they write the music too?

  34. Oh I forgot to quote one of hikaru’s comment… I’m just going to react on this one.

    “From the looks of it, we won’t see a song like JOINT from Mami for a while unless the fan backlash is strong enough.” — hikaruhoshi

    you’re certainly correct on this one unless the JC Staff Production will be hurrying the making of Shakugan no Shana 3 (since the fight is still not finished with the second series), we won’t really see a rock chic Kawada since it’s the only anime series where Kawada only performs rock (well with the exception of Akai Namida of course). But I bet it’ll be the usual Autumn anime series next year.

  35. I liked the single T.T After reading that review that conflagrated it to pieces, my entire heart sank to the core of the earth.

    While I agree that PSI-missing’s chorus was kinda disappointing, I still like the song. I was waiting for this single to be released since forever. I even started watching To Aru Majutsu no Index only because I read that she was the one singing its OP! I like the lyrics of the song, and the PV was good.

    I like Ame even more! It’s really nice, and her voice, aaaah!*squeal* I also tried translating the whole thing myself because there wasn’t translations of it online. I put the song on loop on my walkman every night to listen. I really like the transition of the verse to the chorus, and the ‘waratte’ echoing part at the end.

    Anyway I didn’t like JOINT that much. I find Hishoku no Sora is still her best single.

    I’m already in desolation because I can’t find a single bloody music shop in Singapore that sells PSI-missing.


    I thought IKU’s Rimless was passable, not addictive. Wait, I thought IKU wasn’t in I’ve?

  36. “I liked the single T.T After reading that review that conflagrated it to pieces, my entire heart sank to the core of the earth.”

    Now now, don’t take it so personally: after all, if your heart ‘sinks to the core of the earth’ because somebody doesn’t like your favourite song, well… you’re pretty much a gigantic wimp and could use to toughen up. :P

    Seriously though, everything is subjective. Hell, I admit to liking this song back when its short version was out – it’s just that, upon further reflection, the song’s merits are pretty much trampled by its massive shortcomings. Or at least that’s how I see it.

  37. “Now now, don’t take it so personally: after all, if your heart ’sinks to the core of the earth’ because somebody doesn’t like your favourite song, well… you’re pretty much a gigantic wimp and could use to toughen up. :P”

    I’m a girl. Toughen up? -_- That was a dramatization of my feelings.
    It isn’t exactly my favourite song. I just like everything that Mami Kawada sings, so I offer highly opinionated comments ^^

    “Seriously though, everything is subjective. Hell, I admit to liking this song back when its short version was out”

    :DDDD

  38. ^ don’t ya worry, I love the song as well… But I didn’t let the criticisms affect my liking on the single. That’s because we have our own perceptions about the single and we have different perspectives on everything. There might be people who are getting addicted by PSI-missing and Ame (just like me, if you’ll see my last.fm account :P) and there are also people who are dejected or even pissed off with this single. :D

    “Anyway I didn’t like JOINT that much. I find Hishoku no Sora is still her best single.” — kieyuku

    yeah I can’t disagree with this. No matter how I find JOINT a great single, Hishoku no Sora still wins my heart so cheers! xD And the latter is still her most selling single to date although the two has the almost amount of sales. ^_~

  39. The ‘toughen up’ bit was a joke, actually a bit of a self-depreciating way. Even on this blog, I’ve gotten unduly angry many a time because of a song I don’t like or someone having a vaguely differing opinion or even just getting angry for the sake of being angry. So pretty much, I’m a jerk. Thanks for being a faithful reader. ^_^

  40. Whoa! 40 posts! I think we should take over aibu’s blog and turn it into a forum. Anyway… I’m not inspired but I’m bored and I had to write something :D

  41. @kieyuku: Girls can’t be tough? =P

    Anywhoo, I love these “rip ’em n’ shread ’em” reviews. But I think PSI-missing’s opener makes up for the entire song. Maybe we could all just listen to the instrumental version?

  42. Yeah, the instrumental is really cool! That’s what’s cool about I’ve, all songs sound totally different and independent whithout the voice xD.

  43. “Whoa! 40 posts! I think we should take over aibu’s blog and turn it into a forum.”

    That reminds me, would anyone post on it if an I’ve-specific forum was started up? Because having a true forum would be preferable to these comment-thread discussions, I think…

  44. fred-
    yes I did see your last.fm account. apparently nearly everywhere on the web with Mami Kawada seems to have “Fred Itachi” popping up, plus you’re the one who started her fanlisting(yay). ^^

    aibu-
    Nah, this blog is still a great read. I like your writing style, and anyway I can’t find another english blog about I’ve, so if you close this blog i’d kill you. :D
    I kinda like this way of commenting as compared to forums.

  45. Aibu: DO IT! I love forums!

    We’ll just save our “Boo! I disagree with Aibu!” for the comments section.

  46. @aibu>> I WAS ALSO THINKING OF THAT!!! XDDD but I was a bit shy of asking you to start off an English I’ve Sound forum… since I can’t understand all the posts in ivemusic.net. >,> *oh my woes* but that would be great if you ask me so that all of your posts here won’t contain much of off-topic conversations. ^_^ But the decision is still yours. Since it’s also not half-bad here. :]

    “yes I did see your last.fm account. apparently nearly everywhere on the web with Mami Kawada seems to have “Fred Itachi” popping up, plus you’re the one who started her fanlisting(yay). ^^” — kieyuku

    well that’s because I have my addiction really on Mami Kawada. If Pedropinilla gives his passion to MELL, then it’s the same thing for me to Kawada. ^^ It’s kinda long story but it’s just began when I noticed that Mami Kawada didn’t have her own (English) Wiki article while the other I’ve girls already have (also the ex-I’ve Lia!) and I decided to create one for her then blah blah then comes her fansite then her fanlisting then more & more. XD It’s a bit long, really. =D And I’m proud to say that I’m the biggest Kawada fan here in the Philippines. *oh yeah*

  47. I’m a fan of I’ve but I’m also a fan of this blog and all the guys who write here, because this is the place where I always feel that I’m learning more and best about I’ve,music and company too ^^.

    Before I found this blog, I was a wonderer searching from place to place for good and quality information but since I’m here there’s no need to search anymore, I found my place.

    I think if this blog could turn into a forum would be great but only if we remain the same, I mean, just with a little more structure for comments.

    And please, allow me to say thank you to Aibu, fred, Naddie, Pinky, denpanosekai, AG, SAME, pasta, littleharlock, NumberXIII, kieyuku and of course, to all of you (gomenasai if I forget someone, my mind is a little fragile…) who share your time on this fantastic blog ^^.

    Finally, there’s no place like this… this is our place.

  48. :’D

  49. when i first started listening to IVE i prayed for a site like this.
    That was like 7 years ago when i heard resolution of soul by kotoko and fell in love with it then it came momo with drowning and greedy and then my obsession with mell. Back then i never believed that IVE would become what it is today and that a site like this would exist.
    So thank you guys :)

  50. @pedro: aHEM…

    @pasta: The instrumental version of Psi-missing makes it sound a lot more interesting than the full chorus would imply. Much better than Special Life!, for example.

    @NumberXIII et al: Categorizing the I’ve singers was always part of the plan, though you wouldn’t have known it at times. Two things stick out in my mind: one was putting MELL on Virgin’s High which was not only genre dissonance (Black Lagoon is NOT Sky Girls) but also treated us to MELL’s squeakiest vocals since her Orihime days. MELL deserved better than that.
    The other was with Psi-missing. I had figured that for major Geneon releases, Mami was now the rock/punk goddess, but it got watered down in this single to half-trance/half-rock which ended up being half-baked. The BARKS interview explains why, but my translation skills are too poor to read between the lines and figure out who is to blame. The question regardless is would Mami prefer to do songs like JOINT or My Friend? I don’t know the answer to that.

    @current thread of discussion:
    Ever since my time at the I’ve Sound livejournal, there have been times where I thought it might be good for an I’ve Sound forum, but there never seemed to be enough I’ve fans to make it worthwhile. As far as I knew, there were only about a dozen or two, not enough to make it a worthwhile forum, but enough for an interesting blog/lj. Now? Who knows. Last.fm at least shows there are more than a couple dozen out there.
    I’m surprised at how this community here has grown over the past year and the amount of discussion that takes place, which is kicking the butt of any period of the LJ. You guys are awesome. The only thing that would be better is if we had someone who could actually translate all the I’ve media that’s out there. I would kill for a translation of the Kazuya Takase interviews from the last two issues of Visual Style or any of the 2005 I’ve Talk Jams or the I’ve on V-tube if they ever happen.

  51. you mean you would KILL for those interviews.

    and I’ve often told Aibu but you guys have something good going on, literally becoming the reference for anything I’ve Sound related.

    I like the current format however, it keeps discussion (mostly) on track and I fear a forum would only bring the trolls out of the woodwork. My 2 US cents.

  52. It’s not even a potential plan to ditch the blog for a forum, but as a supplementary resource a forum would be neat.

    And $0.02 US? You trying to fool people into thinking you’re not Canadian now?

  53. Ah but I live in the US. My Canadian savings aren’t worth much here ~\(_ _;)/~

  54. hi, i’m new here ^^ wanna join in the discussion :D

    “Two things stick out in my mind: one was putting MELL on Virgin’s High which was not only genre dissonance (Black Lagoon is NOT Sky Girls) but also treated us to MELL’s squeakiest vocals since her Orihime days. MELL deserved better than that.”

    yeah i agree… maybe mell should be given a song that could show her cute voice like in fly to the top again :D

    “The other was with Psi-missing. I had figured that for major Geneon releases, Mami was now the rock/punk goddess, but it got watered down in this single to half-trance/half-rock which ended up being half-baked.”

    should i say that i like mami bcoz she sings rock ??
    i even started to like her since Get my way! -_-a
    i still like psi-missing though… D

    “The question regardless is would Mami prefer to do songs like JOINT or My Friend? I don’t know the answer to that.”

    well, not only u that have such thought ^^
    i personally think that Mami prefers to sing rock…
    it’s like she sings like the way she wants in Get my way!

  55. Welcome, Yuki88!

    MELL did a great job singing FLY TO THE TOP, so I don’t know why Virgin’s High was more like that. My point was that I don’t think MELL was not the best choice to sing for Sky Girls since it was so different from Red Fraction. Kaori or even Mami would have been better. Virgin’s High is better than Aibu gives credit for, but it could have been better.

    Mami is an awesome rocker! That is why Psi-missing would have been better if it rocked more. Her voice was so sweet in My Friend, so she probably likes doing those too.

  56. “My point was that I don’t think MELL was not the best choice to sing for Sky Girls since it was so different from Red Fraction. Kaori or even Mami would have been better. Virgin’s High is better than Aibu gives credit for, but it could have been better.”

    hmm, i dun think it would fit kaorin well… her voice is so sweet :D
    either way, i still like virgin’s high bcoz that’s my 2nd-known-song for MELL xD
    my 1st taste for aibu really was Red fraction… and then KOTOKO’s being :D
    considering how late i finally know aibu, i’ve become a bit maniac about their songs ^^;;


Leave a Reply

Categories

